I have a very sweet tooth. I have been a vegetarian a long time and I've been increasingly worried about the contents of the average, easily available sweetie.
I had a 'list' of things I thought it was okay to eat, and I read labels. I don't know if the recipies have changed or is there a new 'legal directive' on what they have to declare?
A lot of sweeties now seem to have 'Beef Gelatine' or 'Bovine Gelatine' in them.
I did a bit of label reading today and found these lovely sweeties from Sainsbury's, American Hard Gums.
I can eat them. I am building myself a revised list.....